Homemade Cinnamon Toast Crunch

Homemade Cinnamon Toast Crunch via Byrd Bites

When I say my hubby loves cereal, I mean he seriously loves him some cereal. He can down four bowls in one sitting like it’s no big deal. His metabolism is higher than the moon, so I think he could probably dine on elephants and still look great. But in memory of what used to be our grocery budget, I decided to try making his favorite cereal, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, to see if I could pinch a penny or two.

The results? Interesting. Picky eater as he is, he ate it – so I take it as a good sign. The cereal turned out tasting a bit more like Golden Grahams than Cinnamon Toast Crunch, we concluded, but that certainly wasn’t a bad thing.

Since the recipe calls for part whole wheat flour, it tastes a bit grainier than the store-bought stuff. It also gets soggy faster, so it requires quicker eating. I also suggest, if you decided to embark on this cereal-making endeavor, that you roll the little squares thinner and cut them smaller than I did. The squares puff up in the oven, and my cereal turned out looking more like Mini Wheats. Oops!

With that said, it’s a fun experiment. While I don’t plan to do this regularly, it’s good to know you can make it!

For the recipe, click here. Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

